Only Enterprise/Premium/Pro uses can have password protected maps. At one point all maps had this ability but there was too much confusion, so it is no longer available to non-subscription users.
A password can be added to the map when saving the map. Otherwise, a password can be added on the edit page. Enterprise/Premium/Pro users do not need the password to view the map when logged in.